2013 To 2014: Rekindle Another’s Spirit

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out.  It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being.  We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.  ~Albert Schweitzer

Blogging for a company, Medivizor, and writing for the Health Communication, Health Literacy and Social Science Tweetchat #HCHLITSS website has kept me so busy that my own website has seemed adrift.  Yet life has rushed along…filled with helping our little family settle into a new place! A move from North Carolina to Massachusetts…Gosh,  I’m now listening to predictions of snow…at least 6 inches…and I feel fine!

20130325_151835

You can always tell a real friend:  when you’ve made a fool of yourself he doesn’t feel you’ve done a permanent job.  ~Laurence J. Peter

There have been some lonely times but my real friends have decided that I’m not such a fool as they may have thought, but never voiced.

20130511_155624

I never had a policy; I have just tried to do my very best each and every day.  ~Abraham Lincoln

This is all any of us can do…to do our very best and I think reaffirming this at the end of one year and the beginning of the other is an important ritual that I begin now.

20130401_110616

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. ~Nelson Mandela

I am ever excited by the idea of always being a student, asking questions and learning.  I believe that any effort I can make to educate others or to include them in my continuous “studenthood” is worthwhile.

20130727_145153

I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it.  The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear. -Nelson Mandela

Fear is ever present for anyone who is looking for employment, or relocating, or caregiving or connecting with and/or loving others.  I pray that this coming year I can recognize fear and conquer it.

header1.jpg

Happy New Year 2014!

 

3 thoughts on “2013 To 2014: Rekindle Another’s Spirit

  1. Kathleen, what a beautiful re-introduction for us to you blog. I had no idea so much was going on for you. I’ve learned a lot from you this past year and look forward to more in 2014. Thank you for sharing the Albert Schweitzer quote at the start of this post – it is one of my firm favorites. Wishing you good health and continued success in the year ahead.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

